18.1 C
Cupertino
Saturday, September 18, 2021

What happens to your Facebook account after you pass away?

Facebook wants to know who gets your account when you pass away so they’re introducing a new feature called Legacy Contact.

- Advertisement -

Facebook wants to know who gets your account when you pass away so they’re introducing a new feature called Legacy Contact.

Facebook has offered this feature for quite sometime now. In a press released by Facebook, choosing someone to manage your account after you pass away goes way beyond a basic memorialized account.

The new system helps the ones left behind with a greater sense of possibility, comfort and support as your account becomes a memorial of your life, friendship, and shared experiences.

- Advertisement -

The person who you designate as your Legacy Contact will be able to pin a post on your Timeline, respond to new friend requests, and update your profile picture. They won’t be allowed to post as you, nor will they be permitted to access and read your messages on the service.

“Until now, when someone passed away, we offered a basic memorialized account which was viewable, but could not be managed by anyone,” Facebook explains.

Now, there’s a new Memorialization Request form here which anyone can use to let Facebook know a person has passed away. Facebook will memorialize the account after accepting your notice and confirming that the person has indeed died.

Facebook-Memorialization-Request-web-screenshot-001
- Advertisement -

After entering a deceased’s person name and the date of death, you’ll be asked to provide an optional proof of death in the form of a link to an obituary or other documentation that might be helpful to the team that reviews memorialization requests.

You can even opt to give your Legacy Contact permission to download an archive of all your photos, posts and profile information shared on Facebook. Your other settings will remain intact and your Legacy Contact won’t be allowed to log in as you or see your private messages.

“Alternatively, people can let us know if they’d prefer to have their Facebook account permanently deleted after death,” explains the social networking behemoth.

Facebook-Legacy-Contact-iPhone-screenshot-002
- Advertisement -

To choose a legacy contact in Facebook’s mobile app, open your Facebook settings within the app, tap on Security and then Legacy Contact at the bottom of the page.

After choosing your legacy contact, you’ll have the option to send a message to that person. Again, Legacy Contact can pin a post to the top of your Timeline, but not post in your name.

A revamped memorialized profiles now include “Remembering” above their name as a way of paying tribute to the deceased.

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

3,218FansLike
325FollowersFollow
0SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles